Our leadership

The Board of Pensions of the Presbyterian Church (U.S.A.) is governed by a Board of Directors as well as an Executive Team, led by the Reverend Dr. Frank Clark Spencer, which oversees business strategy and day-to-day operations. The Board's leadership takes guidance from the General Assembly of the PC(USA).

Board of Directors

The General Assembly Nominating Committee nominates candidates for the Board of Directors, and the General Assembly elects them. The number of Directors serving can range from 27 to 36. Their terms run four years; they can serve a maximum of eight years in a row.

No more than 40 percent of the Directors can be ministers of the Word and Sacrament, who might personally benefit from decisions about the Benefits Plan. The rest are members of the Church.

The Directors oversee the investment of plan funds; management and administration of pension, medical, and death and disability benefits; and operation of the Assistance Program. Each Director is named to at least two of eight committees:

  • Assistance and Church Engagement
  • Audit and Compliance
  • Board Development and Governance
  • Executive
  • Healthcare
  • Investment
  • Legal
  • Pension

Any correspondence for the Board of Directors should be sent to

Corporate Secretary
The Board of Pensions of the Presbyterian Church (U.S.A.)
2000 Market Street
Philadelphia, PA 19103-3298

Executive Team

The President of the Board of Pensions, five Executive Vice Presidents, and two Senior Vice Presidents form the Executive Team. The Board of Directors elects the President and the General Assembly confirms the election. The Directors also elect the senior officers and confirm their salaries.

The Executive Team oversees business strategy and day-to-day operations at the Board of Pensions. The team

  • implements the Board's mission;
  • directs Board activities;
  • leads teams to develop short- and long-range plans; and
  • ensures that the principles of the mission are upheld.

Meet our Executive Team

Our President

The Reverend Dr. Frank Clark Spencer is the first minister of the Word and Sacrament to lead the Board of Pensions since the Reverend J. Phillips Noble served as Co-President with Arthur M. Ryan in 1987 and 1988. Dr. Spencer is an experienced business executive with Presbyterian roots that run generations deep.

Meet our President

CEO Pledge for Diversity and Inclusion

CEO pledge for diversity and inclusion

The Reverend Dr. Frank Clark Spencer, Board of Pensions, has signed the CEO Action for Diversity & Inclusion pledge — a leadership-driven commitment to advancing diversity and inclusion in the workplace. This pledge is part of the Board's formal commitment to diversity, equity, and inclusion and to dismantling structural racism. 

Read more about our work toward ensuring a workplace culture that inspires a sense of belonging.